2015 Oklahoma Book Award Finalists

Alphabet image
2015 Oklahoma Book Award Finalists

Alphabet image

Children/Young Adult

Some Assembly Required—Arin Andrews—Simon & Schuster

C is for Chickasaw—Wiley Barnes—Chickasaw Press

The Black Sentry—William Bernhardt—Babylon Books

Finders Keepers—Roy Deering—RoadRunner Press

Rethinking Normal—Katie Rain Hill—Simon & Schuster

George Ferris: What a Wheel—Barbara Lowell—Penguin

Chukfi Rabbit’s Big, Bad Bellyache: A Trickster Tale—Greg Rodgers—Cinco Puntos Press


Chikasha: The Chickasaw Collection at the National Museum of the American Indian—photography by Matt Bradbury and Mike McKee, and book design by Corey Fetters—Chickasaw Press

Capturing the Spirit in Bronze: The Journey and Sculptures of Rosalind Cook—book design by Patricia Ridge Bradley—Rosalind Cook Studio

Art of the Oklahoma Judicial Center—book design and photography by Neil Chapman—Supreme Court of Oklahoma

Extraordinary Jane—illustrated by Hannah E. Harrison—Penguin

C is for Chickasaw—illustrated by Aaron Long—Chickasaw Press

A Legacy in Arms—book design by Julie Rushing and jacket design by Anthony Roberts—University of Oklahoma Press

The Early Chickasaw Homeland—cover and book design by Aaron Long—Chickasaw Press

Chukfi Rabbit’s Big, Bad Bellyache: A Trickster Tale—illustrated by Leslie Stall Widener—Cinco Puntos Press


Popsicle Styx—John T. Biggs—Pen-L Publishing

Hell with the Lid Blown Off—Donis Casey—Poisoned Pen Press

Jingo Street—Sharon Ervin—Oak Tree Press

Her Innocent War—Betty C. Hatcher—Frugal Press

Sinking Suspicions—Sara Sue Hoklotubbe—University of Arizona Press

The Hatmaker’s Heart—Carla Stewart—Faith Words Press

House of Purple Cedar—Tim Tingle—Cinco Puntos Press

Fatal Enquiry—Will Thomas—Minotaur Books


The Nicest Nazi: Childhood Memories of World War II—Christiane Brandt Faris—Ionic Press

Black Cat 2-1: The True Story of a Vietnam Helicopter Pilot and His Crew—Bob Ford—Brown Books Publishing Group

Oklahoma’s Most Notorious Cases—Kent Frates—RoadRunner Press

Port Robertson: Behind the Scenes of Sooner Sports—Edgar L. Frost—Oklahoma Heritage Association

Chikasha: The Chickasaw Collection at the National Museum of the American Indian—Joshua Hinson—Chickasaw Press

Father of Route 66: The Story of Cy Avery—Susan Croce Kelly—University of Oklahoma Press

Piavinnia: The Bent-Guerrier Connection—Jo Ann Kessel—Oklahoma Heritage Association

A Step Toward Brown v. Board of Education: Ada Lois Sipuel Fisher and her Fight to End Segregation—Cheryl Elizabeth Brown Wattley—University of Oklahoma Press


Oklahoma Poems…And Their Poets—edited by Nathan Brown—Mezcalita Press

Words of Rain—James Coburn—BlaqRayn Publishing

Deep August—Jessica Isaacs—Village Books Press

The Walmart Republic—Quraysh Ali Lansana and Christopher Stewart—Mongrel Empire Press

Its Day Being Gone—Rose McLarney—Penguin

Re-Writing Family History—Linda Neal Reising—Finishing Line Press

 The 2015 Oklahoma Book Awards program book is available upon request.

The Oklahoma Center for the Book, sponsor of the Oklahoma Book Award competition, is a non-profit, 501-c-3 organization located in the Oklahoma Department of Libraries. Established in 1986 as an outreach program of the Library of Congress, the Oklahoma Center was the fourth such state center formed. It is governed by a volunteer board of directors from across the state.

The mission of the Oklahoma Center for the Book is

  •  to promote the work of Oklahoma authors,
  •  to promote the literary heritage of the state, and
  •  to encourage reading for pleasure by Oklahomans of all ages.

For more information about the Oklahoma Center for the Book or the Oklahoma Book Award program, contact Connie Armstrong, 200 N.E. 18th Street, Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, 73105; or call 1-800-522-8116 toll free, statewide; in the Oklahoma City metropolitan area, call 522-3383.



Alphabet image


Oklahoma Collection