Oklahoma Center for the Book

The Oklahoma Center for the Book in the Oklahoma Department of Libraries has announced the winners of the 2021-2022 My Favorite Book statewide writing competition for students in fourth through twelfth grades.

Oklahoma Center for the Book


The Oklahoma Center for the Book (OCB) is a state affiliate of the Center for the Book in the Library of Congress, and is organized to focus attention on the vital role of books and reading in our lives. The Center promotes the past, current, and future works of Oklahoma authors; promotes the literary heritage of the state; and encourages reading for pleasure by Oklahomans of all ages.

When the Library of Congress announced the granting of permission to States to become part of their program, the Oklahoma Department of Libraries assembled an advisory group and wrote a proposal. The Oklahoma Center for the Book became the fourth state center on February 28, 1986.

The Center partners with the non-profit Friends of the Oklahoma Center for the Book on a variety of literary events. For more than 30 years, the two organizations have co-sponsored the annual Oklahoma Book Awards.

Oklahoma Book Awards are given each year in fiction, non-fiction, children/young adult, poetry, and design/illustration categories for work written by an Oklahoman or about Oklahoma.

Along with the annual Book Awards, the Center honors an Oklahoman who has contributed to the state's literary heritage by giving the Arrell Gibson Lifetime Achievement Award. The award is named for Norman historian, Arrell Gibson, the Center's first president.

From time to time, the Ralph Ellison Award, honoring a deceased Oklahoma writer, is presented. The award is named after the first recipient, Ralph Ellison, author of the ground-breaking novel Invisible Man.

In addition to these activities, the Center brings readers and writers of all ages together at libraries and bookstores across the state for special events. The Center often supports other literary activities through grants and staff assistance.

For more information email Connie Armstrong or to join Friends of the Oklahoma Center for the Book, go to the membership form.

Friends of Oklahoma Center for the Book
Board of Directors


President—Steven Baker—Norman
Vice-President—Kelly Riha—Oklahoma City
Secretary—Jeanne Devlin—Oklahoma City
Treasurer—Gini Moore Campbell—Oklahoma City

Board Members

Bob Burke—Oklahoma City
Margaret Carlile—Warner
Glenda Carlile—Oklahoma City
Karen Klinka—Edmond
Lynn McIntosh—Ardmore
Troy Milligan—Oklahoma City
Richard Rouillard—Oklahoma City
Kristin Sorocco—Oklahoma City
Leah Taylor—Oklahoma City
Emily Hall—Stillwater


Related Links

For questions about Oklahoma Center for the Book, contact Connie Armstrong on the staff contact form or call her at 405-522-3383 (main number 405-521-2502).