2016 Book Award Finalists

Alphabet image
2016 Oklahoma Book Award Finalists

Alphabet image


Children/Young Adult

Shine—William Bernhardt—Babylon Books

The Boy Who Carried Bricks—Alton Carter—The RoadRunner Press

Ghostlight—Sonia Gensler—Alfred A. Knopf

Bernice Gets Carried Away—Hannah E. Harrison—Penguin Books

Bike on, Bear!—Cynthea Liu—Simon & Schuster

The Apple Tree—Sandy Tharp-TheeThe RoadRunner Press


Bernice Gets Carried Away—illustrated by Hannah E. Harrison—Penguin Books

Chokma’si: The Beauty of the Chickasaw Nation—book design by Corey Fetters and photography by Branden Hart—Chickasaw Press

Making Friends Was My Business—book design by Laura Hyde—Müllerhaus Legacy

Winter’s Hawk: Red-tails on the Southern Plains—cover design by Anthony Roberts, interior design by Julie Rushing, and photography by Jim Lish—University of Oklahoma Press

ilittibaaimpa’: Let’s Eat Together! A Chickasaw Cookbook—book and cover design by Corey Fetters, and photography by Sanford Mauldin—Chickasaw Press


The Long And Faraway Gone—Lou Berney—HarperCollins

The Game Master—William Bernhardt—Babylon Books

Cherokee Ice—John T. Biggs—Pen-L Publishing

All Men Fear Me—Donis Casey—Poisoned Pen Press

Ant Dens—Mary Coley—Wheatmark

The Art of Crash Landing—Melissa DeCarlo—HarperCollins

Two Days in Caracas—Luana Ehrlich—Luana Ehrlich, publisher

Isolation—Mary Anna Evans—Poisoned Pen Press

Town Hall—Clay Hutto—Harbinger Press

A Flying Affair—Carla Stewart—Hatchette Book Group


The Mercy of the Sky—Holly Bailey—Viking/Penguin Random House

Te Ata: Chickasaw Storyteller, American Treasure—Richard Green—Chickasaw Press

Wenonah’s Story: A Memoir of a Chickasaw Family—Robin Gunning—Chickasaw Press

Joe: The Slave Who Became an Alamo Legend—Ron Joseph Jackson Jr. and Lee Spencer White—University of Oklahoma Press

The University of Oklahoma: A History, Volume II, 1917-1950—David W. Levy—University of Oklahoma Press

The Shepherd Who Didn’t Run: Father Stanley Rother, Martyr from Oklahoma—Maria Ruiz Scaperlanda—Our Sunday Visitor Publishing

The Cherokee Diaspora: An Indigenous History of Migration, Resettlement, and Identity—Gregory D. Smithers—Yale University Press

Picturing Migrants: The Grapes of Wrath and New Deal Documentary Photography—James R. Swensen—University of Oklahoma Press


The Art of Digression: A Fragmented Memoir—Dorothy Alexander—Village Books Press

To Sing Hallucinated: First Thoughts on Last Words—Nathan Brown—Mezcalita Press

String Theory—Jenny Yang Cropp—Mongrel Empire Press

The Glory Gets—Honorée Fanonne Jeffers—Wesleyan University Press

Places I Was Dreaming—Loren Graham—CavanKerry Press

Love’s Labors—Brent Newsom—CavanKerry Press

Deep Calls to Deep—Audrey Streetman—Audrey Streetman, publisher

Alphabet image

The Oklahoma Center for the Book, sponsor of the Oklahoma Book Award competition, is a non-profit, 501-c-3 organization located in the Oklahoma Department of Libraries. Established in 1986 as an outreach program of the Library of Congress, the Oklahoma Center was the fourth such state center formed. It is governed by a volunteer board of directors from across the state.

The mission of the Oklahoma Center for the Book is

  •  to promote the work of Oklahoma authors,
  •  to promote the literary heritage of the state, and
  •  to encourage reading for pleasure by Oklahomans of all ages.

For more information about the Oklahoma Center for the Book or the Oklahoma Book Award program, contact Connie Armstrong, 200 N.E. 18th Street, Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, 73105; or call 1-800-522-8116 toll free, statewide; in the Oklahoma City metropolitan area, call 522-3383.

Alphabet image