2019 Oklahoma Book Award Finalists

Alphabet image

2019 Finalists

Alphabet image

The following books were selected as finalists in the thirtieth Annual Oklahoma Book Award Competition.  The books are listed in alphabetical order according to the last name of the lead author/illustrator/designer/photographer.


Friends Stick Together 
by Hannah E. Harrison
Penguin Random House

by Naomi Hughes
Page Street Publishing

The Little Red Fort
by Brenda Maier
Scholastic Press

Legends of the Lost Causes
by Brad McLelland and Louis Sylvester
Henry Holt and Company

We Are Grateful: Otsaliheliga ᎣᏣᎵᎮᎵᎦ
by Traci Sorell
Charlesbridge Publishing

Skeleton Tree 
by Kim Ventrella
Scholastic Press


Little Loksi
illustrated by Eli Corbin
White Dog Press

A Chickasaw Historical Atlas
designed by Gentry Fisher
Chickasaw Press

Friends Stick Together
illustrated by Hannah E. Harrison
Penguin Random House

Love Can Be
book design by Christopher Lee, cover design by Steven Walker, cover photography by Joel Sartore, and illustrations by J.J. Ritchey
Kirkpatrick Foundation

Centering Modernism: J.Jay McVicker and Postwar American Art
cover design by Tony Roberts and interior design by Tony Roberts and Cleo Vastardis
University of Oklahoma Press

Visions of the Tallgrass
photography by Harvey Payne and book design by Julie Rushing
University of Oklahoma Press

Will Rogers: Our American Legend
illustrated by Mike Wimmer
Oklahoma Hall of Fame Publishing


November Road
by Lou Berney
William Morrow/Harper Collins

Forty Dead Men
by Donis Casey
Poisoned Pen Press

The Horned Owl
by Lu Clifton
Two Shadows Books

by Mary Anna Evans
Poisoned Pen Press

Betrayal at the Buffalo Ranch
by Sara Sue Hoklotubbe
University of Arizona Press

Flying Jenny
by Theasa Tuohy
Akashic Books

Death of a Rainmaker 
by Laurie Loewenstein
Akashic Books


Boom Town
by Sam Anderson

The Next American City
by Mick Cornett
G.P. Putnam’s Sons

Finding Pax: One Woman’s Journey for the Love of Her Wooden Boat 
by Kaci Cronkhite
Adlard Coles, Bloomsbury Publishing

Bobby BlueJacket: The Tribe, The Joint, The Tulsa Underworld 
by Michael P. Daley
First to Knock Publisher

Alfalfa Bill: A Life in Politics
by Robert L. Dorman
University of Oklahoma Press

Drawing Fire: A Pawnee, Artist, and Thunderbird in World War II 
by Brummett Echohawk with Mark R. Ellenbarger
University Press of Kansas

1889: The Boomer Movement, The Land Run, and Early Oklahoma City 
by Michael J. Hightower
University of Oklahoma Press

Prairie Power: Student Activism, Counterculture, and Backlash in Okahoma 1962-1972
by Sarah Eppler Janda
University of Oklahoma Press

Ned Christie: The Creation of an Outlaw and Cherokee Hero
by Devon A. Mihesuah
University of Oklahoma Press


Nothing but the Blood 
by Laura Apol
Michigan State University Press

The Shadow Cast
by Julane Borth
Julane Borth Publisher

Not a Prodigal
by Sharon Edge Martin
Village Books Press

Dark Sister
by Linda Rodriguez
Mammoth Publications

Red Riding Hood’s Sister
by Sarah Webb
Purple Flag Press

The Last Blue Sky
by Ron Wallace
TJMF Publishing

The event is sponsored each year by the Oklahoma Center for the Book in the Oklahoma Department of Libraries, a state affiliate of the Center for the Book in the Library of Congress, and the Friends of the Oklahoma Center for the Book. The awards recognize books written the previous year by Oklahomans or about Oklahoma.

See more about the Oklahoma Book Awards:  2018 Book Awards and finalists.

Also view the list of all previous Oklahoma Book Award winners and special recognitions.

See eligibility requirements.